07
May
09

No Wrong Way to Pray, on the National Day of Prayer

Supporting those who fight for our Flag, Motherhood and Apple PieMost people I know pray – in their own ways – frequently, consistantly, to get through their day. 

Some meditate on a single thought or word. Some hum or sing. Some kneel. Some use beads.  Some use a rosary.

When we don’t know someone very well, we may hesitate to say we’re praying for them. Instead, we talk about “thinking good thoughts. ”  Unsure if they want our prayers, we minimize our praying power, and talk about sending “good wishes.” Every time I say that to business colleagues, I make a mental note to pray.  Don’t you?

I’ve found such comfort when friends and colleagues have told me they’re praying for my son.  I picture him wrapped in a blanket of prayer words, coming from all these people.  There are more prayers taking place for him than I can even keep up with: people are praying for him in all sorts of ways. They are praying for his health, his safety, that he isn’t lonely, that he finds good to do in that very depressing country, that he’s a blessing to everyone around him.

They’re praying for me, too.

Being a military mom brings a heightened awareness of the need for prayer. On this National Day of Prayer, of all days, my prayers go to all our troops, in all regions of the world, and all their families.  I’ve been praying, but I was not able to go to a specific place to join in prayer, today.

Our President has come under criticism for not publicly worshipping or publicly joining together with a body of believers on the National Day of Prayer.

I’m going to cut him some slack on this one. I’m going to pray that he really does pray,  whether he does it in public or in private. When thinking about this, we may want to keep in mind the lessons of the Bible story of the Pharisee and the Publican. Need a refresher on that one? Check out: http://tinyurl.com/cn5l4u. 

So, join with me today in prayer for our military.

 red-fri-dayAnd join me tomorrow in wearing REDFRIDAY to show support for our troops.  Thank you.

6 Responses to “No Wrong Way to Pray, on the National Day of Prayer”


  1. May 7, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    there was a celebration today on post for the national day or prayer. i think it is a great way to celebrate the Lord. although, i was unable to attend, i agree with you. everyone prays differently. i do best when it’s just between God and I.

  2. 2 applepiemom
    May 7, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. Prayer can be personal and it can be a group activity. I think we forget to respect that. Having said that, I wish our President had expressed his deep commitment to an active prayer life. I didn’t hear that today, did you?

  3. 3 katherine
    May 7, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Totally agree!! Enjoyed your post & will keep you & your son in our prayers!!

  4. May 9, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Well – this was the post I meant to comment on – I think it went to another – but either way, great blog – hope to come back often.

    Cheers,
    Paula

  5. May 13, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    this is my first visit to your blog and I will return to read you again soon!
    ~AM

    • 6 applepiemom
      May 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      Thank you Airmanmom. Just quickly went to your site – and will add you to my blog roll. So glad to connect!


Leave a Reply

