01
Apr
09

Tell me your story and I’ll tell you mine.

american-apple-pie3My son is 26, single and a pilot in the US Air Force.

I never dreamt, I never imagined, the thought never crossed my mind,  that he’d be on the ground in Afghanistan. And he is.  He’s there now.  He volunteered to be deployed with a US Army battalion.  President Obama has pledged more troops over the coming months.  For all of you moms out there, who will be going through this – this is what “worked” for me.

1.  I read every web entry on Afghanistan I could find. Information, even when tough to read, is better than no information.  The “fear of the unknown” keeps me up at night.  Getting my head around what’s going on there, gives me a sense of empowerment, even though there’s really not anything I can do that has any IMPACT on what happens there.   There are more articles, pictures and videos available online than you can shake a stick at.  Wikipedia has specific details, based on Forward Operating Base (FOB) location.  The Atlantic had a great overview that outlines what’s at stake if we don’t save Afghanistan.

2. I read the book, “The Places in Between” by Scottish historian, Rory Stewart, who walked across Afghanistan in 2002. His account traces ancient trade routes and in so doing, illuminates the legacy of provincial fighting and warlording that permeates the region to this day.  

3.  And I started praying.  Frequently.  Routinely.  For his strength, and for mine. I find myself thinking and humming the words to The “First Song of Isaiah.”  Surely, it is God who saves me, I will trust in Him and not be afraid.  For the Lord is my stronghold and my sure defense, and He will be my Savior.  Finding an easily memorable phrase that can permeate your mind makes sure you have positive thoughts filling your day, instead of a leaving room for negativity.

 

So far, these three things have been working for me.  What works for you?

2 Responses to “Tell me your story and I’ll tell you mine.”


  1. 1 LAW
    April 1, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    For me, what worked was information, information and more information. When I couldn’t find it – ParentsZone was what I figured I’d do instead! and you’ll get through this. Feel free to lean on any of us you need to – and don’t be afraid to be afraid either.

    LAW/PZ

  2. 2 applepiemom
    April 1, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Thanks – that’s exactly my sense – can’t have too many facts at hand. . .and finding things that work for others will probably work for me, too. Appreciate the words/encouragement.


Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/pay4this

Support Our Troops


